• Club Travel Group


The South African Government has just released its updated list of high-risk countries. Travellers who are not allowed from these high-risk countries are leisure travellers only. Only business workers, investors, skilled professionals and diplomats from these countries will be allowed to enter.

The below list is subject to change as it will be reviewed by government every two weeks.

The countries identified as high-risk as updated on 19 October 2020, are as follows:

1. Argentina

2. Bangladesh

3. Belgium

4. Brazil

5. Canada

6. Chile

7. Colombia

8. France

9. Germany

10. India

11. Indonesia

12. Iran

13. Iraq

14. Italy

15. Mexico

16. Netherlands

17. Peru

18. Philippines

19. Russia

20. Spain

21. United Kingdom

22. USA

Source: http://www.dha.gov.za/

Anyone travelling from a high-risk country with proof that they have spent 10 or more days in a low-risk country before departure, will be considered to be arriving from a low-risk country.

Domestic travel requirements

  • Face mask

  • Photo ID - ID Book, South African Driver's Licence or Passport. Children must have a Birth Certificate or a certified copy of a Birth Certificate no older than 3 months. (This does not need to be an Unabridged Birth Certificate)

  • Copy of E-Ticket AND boarding pass

  • Printed Domestic Screening Questionnaire (Return flight passengers must have TWO copies for both legs of the trip). Click HERE to download the Domestic Screening Questionnaire.

  • The Traveller Health Questionnaire must be completed before your arrival at the airport. Failure to produce this form may result in denied boarding, resulting in your ticket being non-refundable.

Overland travel

  • 18 Land borders will be fully operational.

  • Scholars and educators needing to commute daily from neighbouring countries are free to do so, subject to entry requirements.

  • Travellers must wear face masks.

  • Travellers will be screened for Covid-19 upon arrival.

  • Upon arrival into South Africa, travellers must present a negative PCR test result not older than 72 hours from departure time.

  • Travellers must provide proof of address in the event they need to self-isolate if tested positive.

  • Travellers must present a completed Traveller Health Questionnaire.

  • Domestic flights between provinces are allowed and all accommodation, hospitality venues and tours are open, subject to safety protocols.

International exit requirements out of South Africa

  • Valid passport and E-Ticket

  • Quarantine arrangements upon arrival (if applicable)

  • Any additional documents

  • Face mask

  • Completed Exit Health Form

  • Travel insurance to cover Covid-19 related risks (highly recommended)

  • Always check entry requirements at your arrival destination (visas, PCR tests, any additional requirements).

Certain countries require negative PCR when transiting through them, e.g. All passengers travelling to the UAE, including those connecting via Dubai (Emirates) and Abu Dhabi (Etihad) must present a negative PCR test certificate. Children under the age of 12 and passengers who have moderate or severe disability are excluded. The test date must not exceed more than 96 hours before departure. For return flights to South Africa, the PCR test must not be more than 72 hours old.

International entry requirements into South Africa

  • Valid passport and E-Ticket

  • Visa to enter South Africa (if applicable)

  • Upon arrival into South Africa, travellers must present a negative PCR test result not older than 72 hours from departure time.

  • Any traveller who exhibits Covid-19 symptoms upon arrival will be required to take a Covid-19 test at their own expense. Should the test come back positive, the traveller will be subject to mandatory quarantine for 10 days at their own expense.

  • All travellers must complete an Questionnaire for entering RSA either prior to or on arrival. Click HERE to download the Questionnaire for entering South Africa.

  • All travellers will be screened by Port Health Officials upon arrival and departure. Those presenting symptoms must remain in quarantine until a repeat COVID-19 test is carried out.

  • All travellers must wear masks at all times within the airport or port of entry.

  • Travellers must have travel insurance that covers the costs of testing, quarantine and hospitalisation (if needed) before boarding their flight to South Africa.

  • Travellers must show proof of accommodation or address in South Africa in the event self-quarantine is required.

  • Travellers may use one of the three main airports: OR Tambo, King Shaka and Cape Town International Airport.

  • Long-term visas will be reinstated, and South African visa application centres abroad will be opened.

  • Travellers are encouraged to install the COVID Alert SA mobile app.

  • South African citizens and permanent residents will always be allowed entry into South Africa, regardless of where they are travelling from.

  • Anyone from a high-risk country wanting to travel into South Africa for business purposes must send an application to covid19businesstravel@dha.gov.za along with a passport copy, proof of business activities, travel itinerary and proof of accommodation.


Head Office Tel: 021 427 1900

©2020 by Club Travel Group